Toronto Movies

Tenet

Tenet

Score: 4.33 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2020
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: John David Washington, Robert Pattinson, Elizabeth Debicki, Dimple Kapadia, Martin Donovan, Fiona Dourif, Yuri Kolokolnikov, Himesh Patel, Clémence Poésy, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Michael Caine, Kenneth Branagh
Genre: Action
Running Time: 150 minutes

Write a Review


Tenet movie reviews

  • 1

    Tenet

    Monday, August 31, 2020 4:36:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My wife left the cinema after an hour, and I followed. We got refunds. Nuff said.

  • 1

    Tenet

    Monday, August 31, 2020 4:34:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Chris Nolan has had some good movies, some really good movies and some very bad movies. This is the latter. I'm not disparaging his work, but not everything can be grand. This is muddled, the music horrible, and if you manage to stay in your seat until the end, perplexing. The casting was strange to say the least, while not the end of the world, trying to deliver something like Inception with layers to it, you want to make sure the actors are up to it. It's a grab bag of actors, with loose threads of different stories, that by the end you're watching the 3rd installment of the Hobbit and wishing it would just end already. I didn't just not like this movie, I actually hated it, and I can say honestly, I have liked his work in the past with Inception, Batman Begins, Prestige etc, but this one was hampered by the dialogue, the actors, and especially the music. Save your dollars.

  • 9

    Tenet

    Monday, August 31, 2020 12:42:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Tenet is Christopher Nolan's Magnum Opus. On the technical side, few films in history have anything like the action of this film. Every Scene is Magic, and you will think, "How making this is even possible?". And that "No Green Screen" rule is paying off. Because of that, you can believe the most unbelievable things are happening on the screen. Tenet never looks like animation or something full of CGI effects. And when you watch it, You will probably accept that fact is so important. Suppose someone mutes this film and watches it. It's perfection. If someone shot the picture off and only listen to the sound of this film, It's Perfection. So When they get combined, Tenet has become an experience like no other. Ludwig Göransson's Awesome Score has been synced with every scene and is adding to all of them. I love Hans Zimmer, but right now, I don't think even that great man was capable of doing this. The reason is this music feels different from anything I've ever heard in any Christopher Nolan Film. I've watched Tenet twice (So far); the First time, I loved it, and the second time, I loved it. The script does a great job of presenting everything to you in the best possible way. And at the same time, Tenet has fewer exhibition scenes than Interstellar or Inception. So every time you watch it, you will be focused on more things. But It's understandable and self-explaining. The reason that a lot of people will more like The Story for the second time is the fact that THE FILM IS UNBELIEVABLY BEAUTIFUL. It has some shots, which made me speechless and gave me pure joy. As much as I couldn't focus my mind on the story and wanted to be just thinking about the Perfect Picture, I'm watching. This film will stand the test of time. I don't want to spoil anything, So I can't talk about how much I love some of the characters and how the actors have got chosen with no miss fire. Tenet is THE Cinema, at it's

  • 2

    Tenet

    Monday, August 31, 2020 3:52:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I contacted Landmark for a refund when the audio was so loud it drove me from the theater. Who decided to give the lead role to Washington? Then there are the cameos by Caine, Donovan, etc, that lead nowhere and offered very little to the movie. It was trying to be fancy and wound up with drool on the screen. Look for all the dog movies to be released after the Covid scam, because people are dying to get out and they'll go see anything these days. This was a dog movie. It titles itself as the first spy movie witha black man. That tells you the movie was so weak, they're appealing to the social justice nonsense.

  • 1

    Tenet

    Monday, August 31, 2020 3:45:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Steaming pile of manure. The background music sound was immensely overbearing. The actors flat and miscast. The effort was to create an Inception like feel to the story, but it came out as gibberish and not well revealed or thought out. I can't really say much positive for this my first post Covid movie. The experience felt like a waste of time and I left when the audio went over 110 decibels.

  • 1

    Tenet

    Sunday, August 30, 2020 9:51:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best action in the movie is the first 5 minutes. Then it went all down hill from there. Waste of time

  • 1

    Tenet

    Sunday, August 30, 2020 12:45:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    You can spot a pseudo intellectual a mile away because they liked this movie. How can anyone say this was a good movie if they couldn’t understand the dialogue. This movie could have been great by simply improving the sound of the dialogue to better explain what was going on. Others are correct, Nolan had time to make a better movie but didn’t use it.

  • 7

    Tenet

    Sunday, August 30, 2020 9:08:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the movie and could see what Nolan was trying to do but I think what fails is how complex he made the plot. I think Nolan thought everyone going to see his movie took quantum mechanics lol. He needed to make the dialog and plot a little more simple and the sound a little less intense because sometimes you couldn't hear what the characters were saying. Overall I would what it again.

  • 1

    Tenet

    Saturday, August 29, 2020 5:00:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    GARBAGE.......another idiot giving junk movies 5 stars they must really like watching garbage.....wonder if they rate a great movie a 1 star?

  • 10

    Tenet

    Saturday, August 29, 2020 4:08:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It’s a Bond movie in the matrix with a narrated theoretical physics lecture. If that does not stimulate your mind then you will not like the movie. It’s requires and demands you pay attention. It is not meant to be easy to understand(that is what disney talking dog movies and comic book movies are for). My main criticism is the Protagonist continually risking the existence of the world for a tall skinny blonde that is married to a villain? he is in love with her? (Admits he has never had sex with her as well). Protagonist is “saving the entire world” and you risk that mission for her? As they say in Latin “non sequitor”. The special effects are excellent. Excellent cinematography. Best movie in a long time.