Toronto Movies

Manchester by the Sea

Manchester by the Sea

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: November 25, 2016
Director: Kenneth Lonergan
Producer: Chris Moore, Kevin Walsh, Kimberly Steward, Lauren Beck, Matt Damon
Studio: Mongrel Media
Starring: Michelle Williams, Kyle Chandler, Casey Affleck, Lucas Hedges, Gretchen Mol, Matthew Broderick
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 135 minutes

Write a Review


Manchester by the Sea movie reviews

  • 8

    Manchester by the Sea

    Tuesday, December 27, 2016 9:37:47 PM | (age group: 3549) | M

    This film is superb and one of the two best films of the year (the other is Moonlight). The story is told with tremendous care and rings true emotionally at every turn . No cliched sentimentality. Raw emotions flowing naturally. Breathaking performances from Casey Affleck, Michelle Williams and Kyle Chandler. Heartbreaking but speaks to both the resilency and fragility of the human spirit ,the potential for forgiveness and an ability to forge new relationships. If you are a moviegoer who can't handle bittersweet films you should still give this one a try. In this age of superhero cartoon characters and other big screen disappointments, outstanding films like this one are a rare bird indeed.

  • 1

    Manchester by the Sea

    Tuesday, December 27, 2016 7:10:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    B O R I N G !!! About fell asleep. Hated the ending.

  • 9

    Manchester by the Sea

    Tuesday, December 27, 2016 2:19:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie felt like a play in many ways. Incredible acting, poignant and very real in the portrayal of acute depression. Takes us into the despair Lee was feeling in a powerful way. Yes, it was like a slice of life, and no happy ending. But the interaction between the self-centered teen and the grieving uncle was well done.

  • 10

    Manchester by the Sea

    Tuesday, December 27, 2016 1:57:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Brilliant and heartbreaking.

  • 1

    Manchester by the Sea

    Monday, December 26, 2016 1:23:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    boring boring slow should have got up and left not wasted time

  • 2

    Manchester by the Sea

    Sunday, December 25, 2016 11:39:17 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    I go to movies quite often. This is the worst one I've ever seen. My lawyer friend and I hated it. He feel asleep half way through it. I couldn't stop yawning.I knew something was wrong when the ticket seller said it was only 15% sold out. Should have picked something else.

  • 5

    Manchester by the Sea

    Sunday, December 25, 2016 6:31:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Grinding, real life--probably will never forget the main character's psychological hurdle. Had a high rating from Rotten Tomatoes. However, found the movie unsatisfying---like real life often is. Just wanted something to feel better about on CHRISTMAS DAY. A supporting actress nomination for Michelle Williams is not justifiable. Affleck gave an authentic portrayal of someone who cannot---and may not want to---recover from loss.

  • 10

    Manchester by the Sea

    Saturday, December 24, 2016 8:43:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was one of the best movies I have seen..

  • 8

    Manchester by the Sea

    Saturday, December 24, 2016 4:25:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The ending left you feeling unsatisfied. The movie was deep of raw emotion in a all too real life situation. I guess I wanted a happier ending or at least some closure.

  • 2

    Manchester by the Sea

    Saturday, December 24, 2016 4:18:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    the whole boring movie,bad acting, bad musical score , not great photography need I go on?