Toronto Movies

Midsommar

Midsommar

Score: 6.85 / 10

Director: Ari Aster
Producer: Lars Knudsen, Patrik Andersson
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Florence Pugh, Jack Reynor, William Jackson Harper, Vilhelm Blomgren, Archie Madekwe, Ellora Torchia, Will Poulter
Genre: Horror
Running Time: 147 minutes

Write a Review


Midsommar movie reviews

  • 5

    Midsommar

    Sunday, October 6, 2019 9:31:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I give it three and a half Stars. It was really creative and original but oddly enough I found a kind of boring. Yes there were a few really sick demented scenes, but I would not call this a horror movie. I went into this movie fairly blind as to not spoil any of it and was a huge hereditary and so I think my expectations were a little too high. Disturbing scenes do stick with you though. They did a very decent realistic portrayal people tripping on hallucinogens. IDK. It was good but long I would never want to watch it again.

  • 10

    Midsommar

    Wednesday, September 11, 2019 12:52:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing movie!!! If you ever wanted to know what it's like to be apart of a pagan cult like society this is the film for you! Let's just say you will be awed and shocked at the same time. Not for the faint of heart. Very in depth moving down to the finest detail... If you grew up in a deeply rooted religious household, if you ever denounced your faith at some point in your life... you will connect with this movie! If you haven't experienced a deeply religious up bringing or do not believe in anything you most likely will not connect with this and won't understand it... This movie is for the thinker... Societies like this exist in pockets around the world... to the degree of what and whom they worship is left for you to research and find out!!! Very interesting...

  • 10

    Midsommar

    Monday, September 9, 2019 5:19:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie makes you feel like your apart of a traditionsl commune cult like setting... It grabs you and pulls you in whether you like it or not. Making one feel what it is to grow up in something you can never let go of... Extremely religious societies like this still exist out there around the world maybe not to the extent of sacrificial ceremonies but to the extent of keeping their ancient traditions alive whether good or bad. Usually sects that are being persecuted for their ways have to seclude themselves from regular society in order to continue their possibly illegal activities.... This movie takes an array of traditional practices and throws it into one twisted basket. It shows what a society can become when it truly becomes lost from the light and truth. Religious people will understand this movie probably more than those who are not grounded in anything...

  • 9

    Midsommar

    Monday, August 5, 2019 2:18:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful to watch and unlike any other horror movie i've ever seen.

  • 9

    Midsommar

    Wednesday, July 31, 2019 1:24:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Solid.

  • 8

    Midsommar

    Sunday, July 28, 2019 5:44:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Finally checked this one out today and really liked it. Twisted.

  • 10

    Midsommar

    Sunday, July 28, 2019 8:43:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Whoever wrote this should go back to church, silly t**t: I'm not surprised some people are entertained by this. The Game of Thrones fans have to watch something now that it's over. The sick and twisted minds that enjoy seeing people suffer and be murdered made this a hit. Congratulations. - The movie was fantastic!!!

  • 10

    Midsommar

    Sunday, July 28, 2019 8:10:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is not a simple movie to understand. There are elements of Norse mythology and wiccan practice that can cause confusion among views. The scenes of sex, death, and very troubling interactions may confuse people. However, it is very artistic and thought provoking.

  • 2

    Midsommar

    Thursday, July 25, 2019 3:13:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I'm not surprised some people are entertained by this. The Game of Thrones fans have to watch something now that it's over. The sick and twisted minds that enjoy seeing people suffer and delight in other people's suffering made this a hit. Congratulations.

  • 10

    Midsommar

    Thursday, July 25, 2019 3:10:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Ari Aster has again, made me uncomfortable and unable to sleep. This movie is hard to watch , its anxiety inducing, its all about grief and loss of control, and a bad breakup. Watching some parts, I felt like I was intruding in the characters lives, and some parts haven't left my mind yet. Its a brilliant edition to the horror genre. Also, not plus, it does have some humor in it.