Toronto Movies

Belfast

Belfast

Score: 8.05 / 10

Director: Kenneth Branagh
Producer: Becca Kovacik, Kenneth Branagh, Laura Berwick, Tamar Thomas
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Caitriona Balfe, Judi Dench, Jamie Dornan, CiarŠn Hinds, Jude Hill
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 98 minutes

Write a Review


Belfast movie reviews

  • 10

    Belfast

    Sunday, March 27, 2022 7:04:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Appealing characters and a real storyline. It reminds one how quickly conditions based on ideology can divide groups so quickly and have grave consequences.

  • 10

    Belfast

    Tuesday, March 1, 2022 11:09:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great

  • 10

    Belfast

    Saturday, February 26, 2022 1:14:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Evertyhing

  • 9

    Belfast

    Friday, February 25, 2022 9:49:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked pretty much everything about this movie. Acting, story line, cinematography, music were all excellent. Right amount of violence to get the point across without 'overkill'. I left feeling that I had gotten my time and moneys worth.

  • 10

    Belfast

    Thursday, February 24, 2022 4:45:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    By far the best picture of the year (of the ones that are nominated). The acting was incredible, Branagh did a great job with the script and directing the actors, especially the kid. I think directors who are also actors get better performances from their cast.

  • 6

    Belfast

    Sunday, February 20, 2022 3:37:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I can see why there are mixed reviews of this one. My partner loved it, but me, not so much. Itís a movie that wasnít grim enough to do The Troubles justice. At times it seemed to be flirting with becoming an Ulster version of La La LandÖ..Ra Ra Land maybe lol. And I found those moments irritating. Judy Dench will be lauded no doubt but her accent was patchy. A few accents were patchy. But as my partner pointed out, maybe I was looking at it wrong. It was based on KenBraís childhood memories and this is why a lot of it seemed like an overly childish account. I think itís to be enjoyed if the viewer can keep in mind that these are memories of quite a unique childhood and not a historical document.

  • 1

    Belfast

    Tuesday, February 8, 2022 4:20:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very disappointing movie. Waste of time - - - my husband and I forgot we had seen it minutes after walking out of the movie theatre. Completely and totally overrated.

  • 8

    Belfast

    Monday, January 24, 2022 8:32:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A fair and true representation for the most part. None of the usual Hollywood glitz an glamour. The black and white film format served the presentation well.

  • 8

    Belfast

    Wednesday, January 12, 2022 6:31:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing acting by all the characters. The Everlasting Love serenade told us everything about the leads: hot, sexy, emotional and heart- thumping!

  • 6

    Belfast

    Tuesday, January 11, 2022 11:09:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hadnít been to a movie in years and didnít read any reviews before I saw it. So,Ö.was great seeing a movie and being one of six people in the theatre. Regarding the movie, I didnít know what to expect really but I thought it lacked a strong plot line, interesting twists or charcter development. The whole movie I was waiting for something interesting and was disappointed. It was a childís view and some family views of the conflicts in Belfast. It was like, duhÖitís hard for a family. Wish there was more with Judy Dench and Ciara they were the most interesting characters. Also the mother was beautiful. There was no politics really which would have given the movie more depth. Overall, just OK.